Hospital profile · Shanghai
Shanghai Eye Disease Prevention and Treatment Center: IMC
The Shanghai Eye Disease Prevention and Treatment Center (上海市眼病防治中心) is a public eye hospital with two campuses. Its International Medical Center is at the Hongqiao Road campus in Changning District. The hospital's own guide to the center separates booking hours from clinic hours, which is easy to misread from abroad.
Based on public sources, checked on 24 Oct 2026; not confirmed by the hospital
A little help with your next step
Ask a question about hospitals, costs or planning your visit.
Ask us a question Free first replyBased on public sources, checked on 24 Oct 2026; not confirmed by the hospital. Phone numbers, hours and procedures can change; confirm them with the hospital before you travel.
You can book at weekends; the clinic is open on weekdays
The guide, published in the hospital's own newspaper, lists:
| Number or route | Hours | |
|---|---|---|
| Booking by landline | +86 21 6256 5188 | Weekdays, 8:00 to 17:00 |
| Booking by mobile | +86 186 0217 0757 | Monday to Sunday, 8:00 to 17:00 |
| Booking by WeChat | Hospital account → appointments → Hongqiao Road campus → International Medical Center | Not stated |
| Booking through your insurer | Your insurer's service line | Insurer's hours |
| Clinic opening | International Medical Center, Hongqiao Road campus | Weekdays only, 8:00 to 17:00, closed on public holidays |
The mobile line takes calls on Saturday and Sunday, but the guide gives no weekend clinic hours. A weekend call books a weekday visit. Plan your stay around weekdays.
Which campus
The hospital's website lists two campuses: 1440 Hongqiao Road, Changning District (phone +86 21 6298 2727) and 380 Kangding Road, Jing'an District (phone +86 21 6271 7733). The guide places the International Medical Center at Hongqiao Road. If an appointment message mentions Kangding Road, check with the hospital before you set out; the two are in different districts.
On the day: the insurance desk comes first
The guide describes these steps:
- Bring a valid identity document; a passport is listed. Insured patients also bring their insurance card, physical or electronic.
- On arrival, contact the customer service staff and go to the commercial insurance desk, where staff check your identity, check insured patients' card and benefits, have you fill in a claim form, copy your documents, find your record if you have been before, and register you.
- Customer service staff then guide you through the consultation.
- When everything is finished, you can leave.
Arriving with time to spare helps, because the benefits check and claim form happen before you see the doctor. The guide says the center has direct-billing arrangements with more than 20 insurers and medical organisations, but does not name them. Your insurer can confirm whether the eye center is in its network. Eye care is an area where policies differ: some exclude refractive surgery such as laser correction, or limit cover for glasses and lenses, so ask about the specific procedure you have in mind, not just about the hospital. Self-paying patients can read our payment guide.
Language
The guide mentions two-way medical interpreting in Chinese, English, Japanese and other languages in its introduction, and lists English and Japanese interpreting among the center's services. It does not say whether reports are issued in English or which doctors consult in those languages; ask both questions when booking. Japanese is named specifically for this center, but an interpreter still has to be on duty on your date, so confirm it for the day you are booked.
Eye conditions the guide lists
Among the specialty clinics in the guide are cataract, retinal disease, glaucoma, ocular surface disease, tear duct disease, integrated Chinese and Western treatment of eye disease, myopia prevention and control in children and adolescents, strabismus and amblyopia with visual rehabilitation, and refractive surgery. A clinic on this list is a service the hospital offers. Whether any treatment suits you is decided by the examining doctor, and surgery dates, preparation and follow-up visits are arranged after that examination. Our treatments page explains the care types this site covers.
Booking through WeChat, step by step
The WeChat route in the guide runs through the hospital's official account: open it, choose appointments, go to the self-service home page, choose registration, pick the Hongqiao Road campus, and then the International Medical Center. The menus are in Chinese. Registration generally needs an identity document; the guide lists a passport as acceptable on the day, but does not say whether the WeChat booking accepts a passport number. If you do not use WeChat or cannot read the menus, the seven-day mobile line is the simpler option.
If it is urgent
The guide covers planned visits during weekday clinic hours and says nothing about urgent eye problems. The hospital's two campus switchboards are listed above. For sudden loss of vision, eye injury or chemical splashes, emergency services are reached on 120.
About this source
The guide appears as an article in the hospital's newspaper, credited to its marketing department. The page shows today's date in its header, which is the website's date, not the article's; we could not find the issue date. We also read the hospital's home page for the two campus addresses and switchboard numbers. Phone numbers and hours may have changed since the guide was written, which is another reason to confirm by phone or WeChat before travelling.
Before you book
Call +86 186 0217 0757 or use WeChat, and confirm the campus.
- Is the International Medical Center still at the Hongqiao Road campus, and which building is it in?
- Which weekday can I see a doctor for [condition], and who is the doctor?
- Will an English or Japanese interpreter be present, and can reports be issued in English?
- Is [insurer] among the insurers you bill directly?
- Which earlier reports or prescriptions should I bring?
Not yet confirmed
| Item | Status on 24 October 2026 |
|---|---|
| Date of the hospital's guide | Not found |
| Insurers billed directly | Not named |
| Reports in English | Not stated |
| Emergency eye care for international patients | Not covered by the guide |
| Prices | Not reviewed |
The eye center has not seen or approved this profile. We never rank hospitals (editorial policy); how we verify describes the checks. Before you fly, read the visa guide, and for the visit itself the hospital visit guide. Our Shanghai guide covers the city; the cities overview adds Beijing and Shenzhen. All profiles are listed on the hospital index, sourced prices on the costs page, what we charge on the pricing page, and who runs the site under about us.
Frequently asked questions
Is the Shanghai Eye Disease Prevention and Treatment Center's international clinic open at weekends?
The guide says the clinic sees patients on weekdays only, from 8:00 to 17:00. A booking mobile (+86 186 0217 0757) answers seven days a week, but that is for booking.
Where is the international clinic?
At the Hongqiao Road campus, 1440 Hongqiao Road, Changning District, Shanghai.
Does the eye center offer English?
The hospital lists English and Japanese interpreting at the International Medical Center. Ask whether reports can be issued in English.
Does the eye center bill insurance directly?
The hospital says it has direct-billing arrangements with more than 20 insurers. Insured patients check benefits and fill in a claim form at the insurance desk before the consultation.
Sources
- Guide to the International Medical Center (国际医疗中心就诊指南), Shanghai Eye Disease Prevention and Treatment Center (hospital newspaper, credited to the marketing department). Read 24 Oct 2026. Hongqiao Road campus; booking lines and hours; clinic hours; day-of-visit steps; English/Japanese interpreting; 20+ direct-billing partners; specialty list. Issue date not found.
- Home page (campus addresses), Shanghai Eye Disease Prevention and Treatment Center (official website). Read 24 Oct 2026. Kangding Road and Hongqiao Road campus addresses and phones.